Parish Council – Who’s Who

All parish councillors are local residents who either live within Tunstead & Sco-Ruston, or within 3 miles of the villages. There are currently 7 councillors whose details are:

Parish Councillors
Chairman  Chris Oakes
Vice Chair Wendy Atkins
Councillors Jason Coward
 Neil Coston
Clive Rich
Tim Place

District and County Councillors

Your District and County Councillors are:

Council Councillor Telephone Email / Web
Shared District Councillor Gerard Mancini-Boyle
Shared District  Councillors Nigel Dixon 01603 783885

[email protected]

Norfolk County Council Web

Local MP Norman Lamb 01692 403752

[email protected]

Getting Involved

If you are interested in standing as a parish councillor, you do not need to have experience of local government. There are, however, a few rules. You have to be:

  • a British subject, or a citizen of the Commonwealth or the European
    Union; and
  • on the “relevant date” (i.e. the day on which you are nominated or if there is a poll the day of the election) 18 years of age or over;
    and additionally:
  • on the “relevant day” a local government elector for the council area for which you want to stand; or
  • have during the whole of the 12 months preceding that day occupied as owner or tenant any land or other premises in the council area; or
  • have during that same period had your principal or only place of work in the council area; or
  • during that 12 month period resided in the council area.

In the case of a sitting member of a parish or community council you can also satisfy the criteria to be elected if you have lived in the council area or within 3 miles of it for the whole of the 12 months preceding the “relevant day”

You will also need to be nominated by two other parish residents and submit a nomination form to your district council.

Your Parish Councillor’s Members Interests:



reviewed 17/8/17